Schools of Choice

The seven public school districts within St. Clair County participate in the contiguous and countywide Schools of Choice program each year as part of their continuing effort to provide a quality education to all students.

This countywide Schools of Choice program allows parents and students to choose which public school they would like to attend regardless of where they live in St. Clair County.

Schools of Choice policies and guidelines

This document is designed to help parents learn about the Schools of Choice program, policies and procedures. Information about graduation requirements, application policies, timelines, athletics, and transportation are included.

Schools of Choice policies, guidelines and highlights
Schools of Choice application

2017-2018 Schools of Choice dates

Second Semester 

Nov. 10, 2017 Districts will post which schools, grades have openings
Nov. 17, 2017
RESA will place a notice in local newspapers
Nov. 27, 2017
Applications available
Dec. 15, 2017
Applications due to RESA by 3 p.m.
Jan. 12, 2018
Review process completed by districts and parent notifications mailed
Jan. 26, 2018
East China and Yale complete waiting list review
Feb. 2, 2018
Remaining 5 districts complete waiting list review

Parents are encouraged to visit the choice school prior to accepting the transfer. Schools may be contacted by interested parents to schedule a visit to your building.

Students do not need to reapply for admission to the same choice district each year once approved for transfer.


Schools of Choice coordinators by district

Algonac Community Schools
Al Latosz
(810) 794-9364

Capac Community Schools
Janie Redlawski
(810) 395-3705

East China School District
Lisa Volkman
(810) 676-1031

Marysville Public Schools
Michelle Nesbitt
(810) 455-6007

Memphis Community Schools
Laura Heilig
(810) 535-8227

Port Huron Area School District
Patie Bonnick
(810) 984-3101, ext. 4063

Yale Public Schools
Nancy Maplethorpe
(810) 387-3231, ext. 7263

St. Clair County RESA
Kris Murphy
(810) 455-4001